Delete objects configuration

OpenREM is able to automatically delete DICOM objects if they can’t be used by OpenREM or if they have been processed. This has the following advantages:

  • The server doesn’t need to have much storage space
  • It can help with information governance if the database is set to not store patient identifiable data (see Patient identifiable data)

Warning

If OpenREM is set to delete objects and you pass a local file to OpenREM using the command line, the source file will be deleted (as long as the filesystem permissions allow).

Configure what is deleted

Config menu

The Config menu

Use the Config menu and select DICOM object deletion:

This will open the configuration page:

Modify DICOM object delete settings

Modify DICOM object deletion policy

The initial settings are to not delete anything. However, you are likely to want to delete objects that don’t match any import filters, and also to delete images such as mammo, DX and Philips CT, as these will take up space much more quickly than the radiation dose structured reports.

Reviewing the settings

When you have set your preferences, you will be redirected to the DICOM network configuration page, where at the bottom you can review the current settings:

DICOM object deletion poligy review on DICOM config page

Deletion policies can be reviewed on the DICOM network configuration page

More information about the DICOM network configuration can be found on the DICOM Store and QR page.